It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Another week has passed and I still love my life with books. This week I read two very different books: The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares and Sold by Patricia McCormick.

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

sisterhood-of-the-traveling-pantsIf you didn’t read this in high school like me, I would say you are missing out. I have always wanted to pick this book up and read it, except I never felt like I had the time and I was always reading other “stuff”. However, there was always this thing about sharing a pair of pants with your best friend that intrigued me. In middle school, I was that girl that would go to the mall with her friends and buy the same matching twin outfit. Then proceed to wear it to school on the same day. Sharing clothes was also something we did. When I think back to those times and memories I couldn’t help but laugh a little bit.

This book offers a lot for young adult readers. There are four uniquely different character all struggling with life. No doubt about it, almost everyone that reads this novel can say that they connected with one of the girls at some point in their life.

Bridget suffers from a mom that has passed away and over the summer attends a soccer camp where she feel the need to “push the limits”. Lena goes off to visit her Grandparents in Greece leaving behind all of her friends for the summer.  Carmen leaves to visit her father who shocks her with a new fiance and two of the lady’s kids! Finally, Tibby stays home to work, but befriends bailey who is sick with Leukemia.

Sold

soldThis particular novel is written in verse. It may sound difficult, but it really isn’t! This novel pulls the strings of you heart and leaves you emotionally unstable. Even though this story is fiction Patricia McCormick  spent a lot of time researching and interviewing girls that had been sold as sex slaves.

We meet a young girl early on in the novel, Lakshmi, living on a mountain side of Nepal. Her family is poor and suffers from a loss crop. Her step father decides that the only thing they could do to survive was to sell Lakshmi as a maid. Lakshmi loves her family and is willing to go to the city to work for them. When she reaches the city however, she soon figures out that she will suffer great abuse and heartache. But she’s a fighter until the very end!

Because McCormick has done so much research on the topic, readers really learn a lot about this specific culture. These things happen and they’re tough to write about, but also great to read!

As always, happy reading!

-A.

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. stacyannsmithblog says:

    I read “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” years ago as one of my daughter’s LOVED the series. We even purchased them for her so I had the set right at my fingertips. I remember enjoying it, and it may be one that is worth a re-read in the future. That is if I ever get through my ever-expanding list of to-reads for the first time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifewithbooks2017 says:

      Right? I have such a difficult time re-reading novels because I feel like I should always be seeking something new, or a new experience. I’m always afraid i’m going to miss something good! On the other hand, if you really love a book that much, it’s worth a re-read! I just don’t do it too often! Though, i’m glad that you had a similar experience as I did reading “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” and your daughter as well!

      Like

  2. kzlovesreading says:

    I never read Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. I think it may have to do with the fact that I saw the movie first. I usually like to read books before I watch the movies. I saw the book Sold in my school’s library a couple of weeks ago, and your summary of it makes me want to go back and pick it up. Reading books where the characters face great challenges are often very informative and inspiring when they overcome their struggles. It’s is so sad that there are children out there going through these type of experiences.

    Like

Leave a Reply

