It’s Monday! What are you reading?

It’s crazy how much I have been enjoying my time with books lately. I’ve really been expanding my horizons and I’m loving every minute of it. This week I took on a couple of graphic novels (never read one of those before) and I reminisced with an old favorite of mine.

Maus: A Survivor’s Tale

mausMaus is a graphic novel that was recommended to me by one of my classmates. I didn’t really know where to go with the the graphic novel genre, so I reached out for help on twitter (I love my book lovers community).

This is a story about the Holocaust and what a survivor goes through. It was written over thirty years ago and is still powerful today for its readers! His images were drawn with the Nazis as cats and the jews as mice. This part was really interesting to mean before because he wrote it with an imaginative spin. Living during the Holocaust clearly was not easy and this novel was able to enhance the details with pictures.

This graphic novel was really powerful. I never knew that it could hold so much potential. It’s a quick read and easy to follow and understand. Readers get caught up in the lives of the main characters.

Repunzel’s Revenge

repunzelShannon Hale’s graphic novel Repunzel’s Revenge was really entertaining! Growing up I loved watching and reading about princesses. This story has a little bit of a difference, however, because Repunzel is taking care of business for herself from the very beginning. She doesn’t need any man in her life to save her from the tower, but she does get to  kiss a prince. Instead of her hair dropping out of a tower for a prince charming to climb up and rescue her, she’s out using her hair as a rope and going on an adventure seeking her revenge.

Seriously you guys, why haven’t I read graphic novels before!? I think it’s maybe because i’ve put the connotation with them that they’re “too easy” for me and I need to “push myself”. BUT, I think reading is meant for enjoyment and I really got to enjoy this novel and all of its great pictures. I recommend that if you haven’t read any graphic novels to pick one up and read it! You may be surprised like I was. And these two that I have talked about this week are great starters!

The Hunger Games

the_hunger_gamesOkay, so my sophomore year of High School my sister sends me a book in the mail for my birthday. I open it to find Suzanne Collin’s novel The Hunger Games. I was seriously SO excited for this moment and I was excited to revisit the novel again this semester (especially after reading Divergent last week).

For those of you who haven’t read the novel OR seen the movie (the book is better) you are missing out! It’s the common dystopian theme where a society is all sorts of messed up. In Panem there are twelve districts each playing a specific role for society. There used to be thirteen districts, but the thirteenth district tried to make a change and fought back against the ruler. Ever since then the districts have been punished. As their punishment every year one boy and girl is chosen to fight in an arena until there is only one victor. However, after Katniss enters the arena things change.

I love this novel because it’s constantly pushing the reader forward. I also really enjoy the fact that there is action, comedy, friendship, sadness, and romance all tied together in one novel. Additionally, the fact that there is a female protagonist is so awesome! Katniss is a strong and courageous woman who seeks to change the world she lives in. I definitely recommend this novel!

Happy Reading!!

-A.

 

12 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. stacyannsmithblog says:

    Maus was also the first graphic novel that I read. We completed it in a guided reading group at the high school level. I noticed that my non-readers really enjoyed this format, and it was the first time that I could really see the value in “hooking” our reluctant readers with graphic novels. The boy that I was working with was much more apt to pick up a book if it was what he considered to be a “comic,” and he read a great deal more after finding them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ali Meyer says:

    I’m really glad that you liked Maus! We read this in our graphic novels class with Dr. Ellington and it was so fantastic. Not only that, it gives a great representation of what was actually happening during this time, and I could definitely see it being taught in the classroom. As for the Hunger Games… I am really glad that you liked it. Personally, for me, it just didn’t cut it. I hated the character of Katniss from start to finish, and I feel really bad about it, but she just had no emotion for me! It felt that with everything that happened to her, she’s show some sort of emotion! Maybe I”m a cynic, but I’m really glad that you enjoyed it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifewithbooks2017 says:

      HAHA! At least you are honest! I loved Katniss. I found her character really interesting and I think she progressively got better throughout the series. Did you read the rest of the series? I also agree that Maus would be a great read in the classroom! So many discussion topics one could plan lessons around.

      Like

  3. tmack1295 says:

    These graphic novels sound amazing! I’m not totally sure what a graphic novel is exactly, the first thing that comes to mind is a sort of comic book, but I’m not sure. Hunger Games was great I read them in High School and got my brothers(they don’t read) hooked on them. I was mega proud. I loved the movies too, though you’re 100% correct that the books are far better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifewithbooks2017 says:

      My brother wasn’t a huge reader (like at all) so whenever he actually read a book it was always a great feeling! I definitely can relate to you on that point. Also, do look into graphic novels. They are very similar to a comic book. Super quick reads, but they are great for those who love to have pictures along with their reading.

      Like

  4. pilotpoetphysic says:

    I am so happy that I read your blog! I am always writing about how I need to branch into the graphic novel genre, and your writing reminded me that I was given the Maus series a couple of years ago. I never read them, and your review really has me curious now! I will finally be able to check this goal off my list! 🙂

    Thank you, and happy reading!

    Like

  5. savannah3547 says:

    The picture of Maus grabbed my attention…I’ve never seen a book like this before! The story of the Holocaust in graphic novel form seems like an interesting combo. Glad to see it seemed to work out well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

