Rich in Diversity

How are you diversifying your reading materials? What challenges do you do to ensure that you aren’t constantly reading the same genres with similar themes?

Believe it or not, there’s a lot that we can do to make sure that we are really expanding our reading possibilities and pushing ourselves outside of our comfort zones. It’s important to continue to make progress in diverse reading materials for multiple reasons. One, it lets publishing companies realize that the diverse reads are important and should be published. Two, it allows ourselves to grow as readers. Three, it makes us more aware of different cultures acting as a bridge builder.

Reading a variety of different novels, stories, and poems really helps me grow as an individual. Since the beginning of this semester I’ve really been pushing myself to pick up different books… and boy am I sure happy about doing that. There are so many great published books that I never even thought about reading, but now I just can’t stop pushing myself to look for more diversity.

Except, sometimes it’s difficult for me to find a diverse read that I want to read. There are a lot to choose from, but not near as many as there should be. Before this semester I never really took initiative on my own to find diverse reads, but now i’m learning how important it is to branch out!

My plan is to make my book shelves as rich in diversity as the rainbow is in colors. I want to be able to connect with all different types of reads. Plus, I’ve found that when I try new things… I actually like them. If I don’t like them, at least I can say I gave it a shot. And I recommend all of my fellow readers to do the same. Give diverse reading materials a chance. What do you have to lose?

In order for my plan to be successful, I have to keep challenging myself to find more diverse reads, by different authors. On several occasions I find an author that I love and stick with him or her, but I really want to challenge myself to not always do that. Additionally, I want to continue reading books that have been nominated/awarded diverse rewards. There are several different Bingo card challenges on the internet that I can always do. Another book challenge I am looking at doing is reading 60 books in a year all by different authors. This will really ensure that i’m branching out searching independent publishers and the big publishers.

Any other suggestions I should try let me know!! Otherwise… happy reading!

-A.

4 thoughts on “Rich in Diversity

    • lifewithbooks2017 says:

      It’s sometimes really difficult to tell our selves to not always choose the same author all of the time, I’m with you there. And what I have found this semester is that I really do enjoy a lot of other authors that I open myself up to. So I guess it’s up to us to really let ourselves be open because you never know when you might fall in love with a different author until you give yourself that chance!

      Like

  1. Elisabeth Ellington says:

    I love all of your ideas here for diversifying your reading life! One of my favorite ways to diversify is to keep track of different awards that highlight diversity. I almost always like the Schneider Award books (disability) and the Pura Belpre books (Latino/Latina), so I make a special point of reading those.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lifewithbooks2017 says:

      I was first introduced to the Pura Belpre books this semester! I really like them and think I will continue reading them. Have you read “The Only Road” by Alexandra Diaz? That’s one that I recently read and loved! Also, before this class, I wasn’t necessarily paying attention to different awards… but now I know a lot more about them and feel like they play an important role in what I choose to read!

      Like

Leave a Reply

