It’s Monday! What are you reading?

The Diary of a Young Girl

anneThis is Anne Frank’s story. A young, Jewish girl who lived during the holocaust. While in hiding she kept a diary and wrote in it consistently. What is included in this book, is what she wrote and what she left behind for others to find.

Approaching this novel I kept in mind that this wasn’t something I would probably connect with, because I wasn’t alive during the holocaust and in no way have endured the terror, pain and suffering that Anne goes through. Secondly, I kept in mind that this is her diary, her life, and her words/experiences written out and exposed for the world to read. Diaries are intimate and filled with real life emotion and thought.

With that being said, this first-person account had me in tears. It’s a powerful read. Anne’s writing helped me experience what she was going through. And I think that’s probably why this has been such a timely piece of writing. It’s a real account of her life in hiding. I think what made it so emotional for me, is that I knew how it was going to end. There are only so many pages, so it was really a count down until you reached the last page. But overall, it’s definitely a great read and definitely something to consider requiring young adults to read!

Zombies Vs. Unicorns

zombieOkay, so before you think I’m a weirdo for picking this collection of short stories to read, let me give you a little background. So, I’m currently taking this multi-ethinc literature course, and in it, we read a zombie novel. My FIRST ever zombie novel. This inspired me to read more zombie novels. And that decision brought me to this collection of short stories.

I had so much fun reading this collection of short stories! Throughout the entire collection this was the question being discussed: Which is better: zombies or unicorns? And so it would go back and forth between the two where there are stories that give reasons why zombies are the best, and then stories where unicorns are the best. It’s up to the reader to decide for him or herself which is the best! I’ve never really read anything like this, but it was definitely entertaining. Definitely a recommendation (even for those of you who don’t know if you like zombie stories or unicorn stories).

P.S. I’m team zombie.

Happy reading! 🙂

10 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. kaitmmm says:

    I absolutely love the Diary of Anne Frank. Its so honest, heartfelt, and soul-crushing. Zombies vs. Unicorns is one I looked at when I was trying to find a book of short stories. I’m glad you liked it so much, it sounds hilarious. I’m going to have to try it out.

    Like

  2. Shannon Schneider says:

    I remember the first time I read the Diary of Anne Frank. It felt like something intimate that I shouldn’t be reading, but at the same time she wrote with such passion, and I couldn’t look away. Knowing that they are the words and thoughts of an actual person (and knowing how it ends) makes it much heavier. Where did you get Zombies v. Unicorns? I read your description, but honestly you had me sold at the title. Plus, short story collections are bomb diggity.

    Like

    • lifewithbooks2017 says:

      Intimate is a great word to describe the reading experience. I knew going into it that I was probably going to cry a lot. I checked out Zombies Vs. Unicorns from the CSC library! Go check it out, it should be there if no one else has checked it out 🙂

      Like

  3. seetheworldinbooks says:

    The Diary of Anne Frank was a book that really touched my heart as a young girl. It’s a book that stayed with me, I think in large part because I read it when I was about the same age as Anne. (As many students in America do.) It’s an amazing piece of history and I love that her dad made her dream of being a writer come true. I worked for an amazing women for 10 years and her parents were Holocaust survivors. They fled Russia and Poland respectively to escape the Nazis only to be caught and placed in camps where they met and managed to survive. They married after the war and settled in the US coming here through Ellis Island. Her stories always rocked me a little. I remember asking about her extended family one time and she said, “I don’t have any, they were all murdered.” Talk about the world stopping and making you think – but it was true. Her parents’ families were killed. I had the privilege to meet her mom and she was an amazing woman. There’s so much to learn from Anne, and all those who did and didn’t survive. I hope students continue to read her diary for many years to come.
    On a lighter note, I’m quite intrigued by zombies vs. unicorns. I must check it out. I haven’t read a zombie book either.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

