It’s Monday! What are you reading?

Welp. It’s not Monday, but it is definitely Tuesday. In true college student fashion during the last two weeks of the semester, I have miscalculated the amount of time I had. Therefore, Happy Tuesday. Forgive me for being a day late. HOWEVER, I still want to let you know what I have been reading the past two weeks. So here it goes… it’s a lot, but worth it.

Crank

CrankAuthored by Ellen Hopkins, Crank is a book of poetry for teens. I’m not necessarily a poetry person, and whenever someone tells me I have to read it or write it, I cringe a little bit. So with that being said, you can just about imagine how I felt going into this. I didn’t really know where to start or where to find a book. So I did what any well-learned reader would do and went to GoodReads to scroll through some options. And what do you know, I found one that seemed rather interesting.

Crank is a good read. I would recommend to my friends and followers who are looking for some poetry to read. What I liked most about the poems is that they were unique. Each page turn Hopkins was creatively shaping the poems to enhance the context. Additionally, I liked the overall messages it gives readers. Hopkins doesn’t shy away from the tough topics like sex, drugs, and other bad mistakes we sometimes make growing up.

Her characters are real and you’ll be both frustrated with them, but enjoy reading their experiences. I don’t think I’ll be forgetting it any time soon. I mean, I read it in a day, and wanted to discuss this with someone else…. so please read it!

When We Collided

When We CollidedEmery Lord’s novel When We Collided has been awarded the Schnieder Family Award, which is primarily why I chose to read it. And I will admit, it was an okay read!

The cover really intrigued me to begin with because of the quote printed on it. I know we aren’t supposed to judge books by the cover, but in this case it did make me curious about what was inside! The quote goes like this, “Can you fall in love when you are falling apart?” Any reader knows that questions directed at us are both intriguing and make us curious to figure out what the answer is.

SO no surprise, this is a love story. If I had any word to describe this novel, it would be bittersweet. We get the romance and the humor, but we also get reality and truth. Two teens, Johnah and Vivi both have different stories and different aspects that make their lives difficult, but when they come together they realize their potential love. Does love fix everything? And can you love when you’re falling apart? It’s a bit cheesy, and yet kind of nice to read.

“When I met Jonah Daniels yesterday, there was a magical shift in the trajectory of my summer. He’s the ring to my Frodo, the wardrobe to my Lucy Pevensie. His presence in my life sets me on my journey, and I can feel it, a vital mission pulsing in my bones. Here is a boy who needs me.”

If you’re into cheesy. I’d say give it a shot! If you’re into contemporary novels, I’d say this is one for you! If you’d like to explore a girl with a bipolar disorder, probably a novel to check out. And if you’d like to see how Johnah ends up, also a novel you should read.

Fangirl

I’ve heard a lot of book talk about Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. And so I decided to give it a shot.

fangirlWhat I appreciate about this novel is the transition Cath, the main character, goes through from high school to college. A lot changes and we go through that experience with her. Cath is a socially awkward person, and I think a lot of us “book worms” can relate to her on some level. For example, she avoids going to the cafeteria and simply eats protein bars in her room to avoid the awkwardness of having to sit in the cafeteria with people.

Another thing that I appreciate about this novel is Cath’s obstacles she’s faced with in college. I think it rings true to a lot of us when we left our high school, that we weren’t exactly sure what we would be faced with when we came to college. She loves fanfiction, something I’m not as familiar with, and despite what others tell her about fanfiction she decides to stick with it. I give her props for going against everyone else’s word, and staying true to her own likes.

There’s a lot of potential in this novel. It’s different from other things that I have read, which is one of the reasons why I would encourage you to read it too. I think it would definitely be beneficial for high schoolers to read.

The Truth About Forever

The TruthOkay, you can’t really go through a YA binge reading experience without reading Sarah Dessen can you? No. So I chose to read her novel, The Truth About Forever. You guys… I loved this book. It was filled with a lot of emotional experiences and I can’t say how much I appreciated the work.

This is a story about loss, first love, new beginnings, and real life. It’s all about the time we have here, and the truth that forever really isn’t forever because our forever can end any second now. Talk about emotional and real. And I must say, the characters are ones that you will love. Each character goes through their own loss and each character handles it a little bit differently. It just goes to show you that we all cope in different ways. I can also say, that this was a love story that I actually really enjoyed. Wes and Macy seem to be authentic rather than super cheesy or unrealistic.

“The truth about forever is that it’s happening right now…”

The Vanishing Game

The VanishingAnd then I had to read The Vanishing Game by Kate Kae Myers for book club. This was everything I didn’t like in a novel all compiled together. I hated it. I don’t like not suggesting books, but seriously don’t read this one… or read at your own risk.

This is the mystery/thriller/”horror” story about Jocelyn and Jack and Noah. Jocelyn and Jack are twins, but Jack died. Jocelyn and Noah begin to uncover the mystery of Jack’s death. And like any mystery novel, there’s a twist at the end.

First, I didn’t like Kate Kae Myer’s writing style. I could have maybe made it through the entire novel if at least that was good, but it wasn’t.

Secondly, the entire plot seemed like it had too many ideas happening all at once. Like there could have been several different books from this one book. Maybe it was a little too ambitious and probably should have been a series or something.

Thirdly, (is that a word?) I hated the characters. Personally, they just weren’t what I was expecting.

And I’ll leave the rest unspoken… because I feel like I have already been too mean. Maybe this is a good novel for teens. Maybe I just didn’t have a great reading experience with it. There’s probably someone out there who enjoyed it. So take my word for it, or don’t and find out for yourself what you think about this novel.

SO THAT’S ALL I HAVE FOR YOU. FINALLY.

Happy reading,

-A.

One thought on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?

  1. lizkrohn says:

    Gosh, this seems like the millionth time I’ve seen a book review for something written by Ellen Hopkins. There is obviously something about her. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

